Champawat Map

Champawat is the smallest district of northern Indian state of Uttarakand in terms of area. It is one of the six districts of Kumaon region. Uttarakhand has total 13 district, Champawat being the smallest one. Champawat map consists of its all 4 tehsils. These are namely:

  1. Pati
  2. Champawat
  3. Lohaghat
  4. Poornagiri

Map of Champawat district and its Borders:

The borders of Champawat district touch:

  • Tibet (China) in the east
  • Pithoragarh district in the north-east
  • Almora district in the north
  • Nainital district in west
  • Udham Singh Nagar district in the south

Few Facts about Champawat district:

  • Being the smallest district of Uttarakhand, Champawat district has a total area of 1,765.78 km2 (681.77 sq mi).
  • According to the census data of 2011, Champawat district has a population of 259,648.
  • The town of Champawat has historical importance as it once was the capital of Chand kings of Kumaon kingdom.
  • The temperature of Champawat is cooler. The summers here are pleasant.
  • Devotees believe that in Mahabharata time, Pandava brothers spend some of their time here during 12-year exile.
  • Ek Hathiya Ka Naula is a beautiful example of cut work on stone. It is at a distance of 5 kms from the town of Champawat. It is said that it was developed in only one night by a one gave craftsman.
  • Baleshwar temple is home to lord Shiva. It was built by the Chand rulers in the sixteenth century.

Best Places to Visit in Uttarakhand

Char Dham Yatra

Similar Places