Nainital is a popular Himalayan hill station and one of the 13 district of northern Indian state of Uttarakhand. It is also one of 6 districts of Kumaon division of the state. Nainital map consists of its 8 tehsils. Sometimes referred as “The Lake City”, Nainital is home to several beautiful natural lakes. These are namely, Naini lake, Bhimtal, Sattal, Naukuchiyatal, Pannatal, Sariyatal and Khurpatal.

The borders of Nainital district touch:

  • Almora district in the north
  • Champawat district in the east
  • Udham Singh Nagar district in the south-west
  • Garhwal region in north-west

Map of Nainital:

The above is the tehsil map of Nainital. This Nainital map consists of its all 8 tehsils. These are namely:

  1. Ramnagar
  2. Betalghat
  3. Nainital
  4. Kaladhungi
  5. Haldwani
  6. Dhari
  7. Kosya Kutauli

Few Facts about Nainital District:

  • Nainital is one of the most popular hill stations of India. Being home to several beautiful natural lakes, it is also popular as “The Lake City”.
  • The highest are of Nainital are
    • Naina peak of China peak (2,615 m (8,579 ft)) on the north,
    • Deopatha peak (2,438 m (7,999 ft)) on the west
    • And Ayarpatha peak (2,278 m (7,474 ft)) on the south.
  • The British were drawn to Nainital because its climate and location is similar to those of Cumbria in England.
  • As per the census data of 2011, Nainital district had population of 954,605, of which males were 493,666 and 460,939 were females.
  • The town of Nainital was founded in 1841 with the construction of the first European house (Pilgrim Lodge) by P. Barron, who was a sugar trader from Shahjahanpur.
  • Advertisement
  • Naukuchiatal is at a distance of a few kms from Nainital town. This lake has 9 corners. It is impossible to see all 9 corners of this lake at one time.

Best Places to Visit in Uttarakhand

Char Dham Yatra

Similar Places